Dr. Chakravarti Inducted as Fellow of American College of Radiation Oncologists

March 02, 2012
Dr Chakravarti Inducted as Fellow of American College of Radiation Oncologists Chakvarnati Arnab

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Dr. Arnab Chakravarti, chair and professor of Radiation Oncology, Max Morehouse Chair of Cancer Research, and co-director of the brain tumor program at the Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Comprehensive Cancer Center and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), has been inducted into the Fellowship society of the American College of Radiation Oncology (ACRO).

Chakravarti, one of the youngest members inducted to date, was honored recently during an induction ceremony in Fort Myers, Fla. He was chosen for this honor in part because of his "high degree of professional integrity," according to a member of the selection committee. In addition, Chakravarti was recognized for his leadership, along with academic and clinical contributions to the field of Radiation Oncology, as well as his accomplishments as department chair of Radiation Oncology at Ohio State.

For more than 13 years, Chakravarti has received federal funding for cancer research from the National Institutes of Health, and has been honored with more than two dozen national and international awards.

Chakravarti played an instrumental role in securing a $100 million federal grant from the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources Administration (HRSA) to fund radiation oncology and associated cancer services as part of the $1.1 billion expansion project at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, which will include the new James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute and Critical Care Center.

To be eligible as a Fellow, the member must be board certified by a recognized board of the American Board of Medial Specialties and have displayed distinguished service to the field of radiation oncology. During his career, Chakravarti has published more than 100 scientific publications in high-impact journals, and serves on editorial boards for nine major scientific journals. He also is a standing member on NIH grant review panels, including the Cancer Biomarker Study Section, as well as NIH Program-Project Grant and SPORE study sections.

His clinical contributions include research that he has initiated which have led to the incorporation of novel molecular, genetic, and epigenetic biomarkers into clinical trials and clinical practice for brain tumors, prostate cancer, and bladder cancer.

ACRO is a professional society with a mission geared to ensure top quality care for radiation therapy patients and to advance the frontiers of Radiation Oncology through cutting-edge technological and scientific advancements.

The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute strives to create a cancer-free world by integrating scientific research with excellence in education and patient-centered care, a strategy that leads to better methods of prevention, detection and treatment. Ohio State is one of only 40 National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers and one of only seven centers funded by the NCI to conduct both phase I and phase II clinical trials. The NCI recently rated Ohio State's cancer program as "exceptional," the highest rating given by NCI survey teams. As the cancer program's 210-bed adult patient-care component, The James is a "Top Hospital" as named by the Leapfrog Group and one of the top 20 cancer hospitals in the nation as ranked by U.S. News & World Report.


Click here for a high-quality photograph of Dr. Chakravarti.

Contact: Gretchen Sauer, Medical Center Public Affairs and Media Relations, 614-293-3737, or Gretchen.Sauer@osumc.edu

Contact Media Staff

Amanda Harper

Director of Media Relations

614-685-5420 (direct)

614-293-3737 (main)


Media staff are available by calling 614-293-3737 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.


If after hours, please call 614-293-8000 (ask the operator to page the hospital administrative manager).