Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, is director of The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center, chief executive officer of Ohio State’s James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute, and holder of the John L. Marakas Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Foundation Chair in Cancer Research. He also is a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine and the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics in Ohio State’s College of Medicine. 

Dr. Caligiuri received his undergraduate degree in 1979 from the University of Buffalo and later earned his master’s degree in physiology and his medical degree from Stanford University School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital at Harvard Medical School in Boston, Mass. Dr. Caligiuri then completed a fellowship in medical oncology, bone marrow transplantation and immunology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at Harvard Medical School. He next spent seven years at Roswell Park Cancer Institute as an assistant, associate and full professor before moving to The Ohio State University in 1997.

Dr. Caligiuri’s laboratory has evolved to investigate:

  • Development and normal role of the body's large granular lymphocytes called natural killer cells so as to exploit their properties to develop effective therapies against cancer and immune deficiency;
  • Why organ transplant patients with iatrogenic immune deficiency are highly susceptible to developing lymphoma associated with the Epstein-Barr virus, and to develop a preventive strategy for this disorder. His lab uses a SCID-human mouse model to explore therapies for treating this and other types of lymphoma; 
  • The molecular basis for the development of acute leukemia. His lab has mouse models of leukemia as well as the world's largest bank of human leukemia cells to study the pathogenesis of acute leukemia, the prognostic significance of molecular defects in acute leukemia, and novel therapies for acute leukemia.

Dr. Caligiuri is committed to student development. He has mentored more than 100 students who’ve completed their training in his laboratory. These include undergraduate students, master of science students, PhD, MD/PhD or DVM/PhD students, and post-doctoral fellows.  His students have excelled in their careers, many of them winning awards as Young Investigators (NCI K08) or as Post-Doctoral Trainees (NCI T32). These and other prestigious awards are the hallmark of Dr. Caligiuri’s dedication to the rigorous training needed to prepare students to become successful and independently funded investigators. 

In addition to his biomedical research, Dr. Caligiuri directs a large biorepository that collects, processes, stores and distributes samples obtained from patients registered to therapeutic trials studying leukemias, lymphomas, myelomas and related diseases. He has designed and conducted many clinical studies for leukemia and lymphoma patients and has more than 400 original publications, abstracts and review articles on immunology or leukemia. Dr. Caligiuri also is an elected member of the American Association for Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians, and he is an elected Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 2007, he was elected as vice president and president-elect of the Association for American Cancer Institutes (AACI), and he served as AACI president through 2011. He chairs the AACR Publications Committee and is a past editor of the journal Blood. Dr. Caligiuri has served on numerous national and international committees, including the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Board of Scientific Advisors; he either chairs or is a member of 12 cancer center advisory boards across the country. 

Dr. Caligiuri has received numerous honors, including the National Institutes of Health MERIT Award for his research studying the effects of Interleukin-15 on immune system development. Dr. Caligiuri is one of only four investigators who received this honor in 2010.


Aaron Victor, BS      

Aharon Freud, MD, PhD

Alex Hartlage, BS

Anjali Mishra, PhD

Bethany Mundy-Bosse, PhD        

Billy Carson

Charlene Mao, MS  

Christopher Manring, BA   

Daniel Brook

Don Benson, MD, PhD

Donna Bucci, BS

Elshafa Ahmed, CVM, MPH          

Frankie Jeney

HongSheng Dai, PhD

Il-Kyoo Park, PhD

Jianhua Yu, PhD

Jing Wen, MD

Kathleen McConnell, BS

Kelsey Chatman, BS

Li Chen, MD

Nathaniel Griffin

Mary Nemer

Michael Zhang

Robin Taxier, BS

Stephen Bergin, BS

Steven Scoville, BS

Sonya Kwiatkowski

Victoria Sellers, BS

Wacharaphon Vongchucherd, BS

Wing Chan, PhD

Please enter a keyword (i.e. Name, Research Interest) or choose a Research Program