Of Note


Tim H-M Huang, PhD, professor of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, has been awarded an $8.6 million, five-year renewal grant from the NCI for computational genome analysis for breast, ovarian and prostate cancers.

Electra D. Paskett, PhD, associate director for Population Sciences at the OSUCCC – James, has been awarded a $10 million, five-year grant from the National Institutes of Health to continue funding the Center for Population Health and Health Disparities.

Amanda Toland, PhD, assistant professor of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, has received a $1.25 million, four-year NCI grant for a study examining genetic interactions in colorectal cancer susceptibility.

John Byrd, MD, director of the Hematologic Malignancies Program, associate director for Translational Research and holder of the D. Warren Brown Professorship in Leukemia Research, has been awarded a five-year, $6.25 million Specialized Center of Research (SCOR) renewal grant from The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. The grant involves five other OSUCCC – James investigators and four clinical trials.

Awards and Honors

John Byrd, MD, director of the Hematologic Malignancies Program, has received the first Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award. The award honors exceptional individuals whose research has transformed cancer-patient care.

Ching-Shih Chen, PHD, Lucius A. Wing Chair of Cancer Research & Therapy, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, of Internal Medicine, and of Urology, has received an Ohio State University Distinguished Scholar Award, which recognizes exceptional scholarly accomplishments by senior professors.

Carlo M. Croce, MD, professor and chair of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, director of the Human Cancer Genetics Program and the John W. Wolfe Chair in Human Cancer Genetics, has been elected to the American Society of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

Joseph Flynn, DO, MPH, co-director of the Division of Hematology, has been appointed to the 2010 Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award. The award is the highest level of national recognition that a U.S. organization can receive for performance excellence.

Chandan Sen, PhD, professor of Surgery, associate dean for Research in the College of Medicine, has been recognized along with members of Ohio State’s Davis Heart and Lung Research Institute (DHLRI) for decade-long excellence in sharing scientific discoveries and advancing the field of redox biology through the journal Antioxidants & Redox Signaling. Sen is the founder and editor of this journal, which is housed in the DHLRI and recently was recognized as one of the top scientific publications nationwide.

Smitha Pillai, PhD, a postdoctoral fellow in Feline Cancer Pathogenesis in Ohio State’s College of Veterinary Medicine, received an Amanda Feline Fellowship from the Morris Animal Foundation to study oral cancer treatment. Pillai will receive $100,000 for the two-year fellowship, which is one of only two awarded nationally this year. She works in the laboratory of Thomas Rosol, DVM, PhD, a professor in the Department of Veterinary Biosciences.

Faculty and Programs

Vincenzo Coppola, MD, assistant professor in the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, and a former staff scientist with the NCI’s Mouse Cancer Genetics Program, has joined the OSUCCC – James as director of the University’s Mouse Modeling Core Facility.

Joseph Flynn, DO, MPH, clinical director of Hematology at the OSUCCC – James, has been named co-director of the Lance Armstrong Foundation Survivorship Center of Excellence at Ohio State and medical director of the survivorship clinics.

Mark B. Landon, MD, has been named chair of Ohio State’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Landon specializes in maternal-fetal medicine and is an internationally recognized authority on gestational diabetes and cesarean delivery.

Christopher Pelloski, MD, has been named first director of Pediatric Radiation Oncology at the OSUCCC – James. He also directs the Radiation Oncology residency program and medical student education and holds a joint appointment with Nationwide Children’s Hospital for Pediatric Radiation Oncology.

Jeff Walker, MBA, has returned to Ohio State to become the first executive director of the OSUCCC – James. Walker came from Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo.

Richard D. White, MD, has been appointed professor and chair of Ohio State’s Department of Radiology and director of the Imaging Signature Program.

The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center-Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute celebrated its 20-year anniversary July 27. The James opened in July 1990 as the patient-care component of Ohio State’s Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Ohio State's Center for Clinical and Translational Science and College of Medicine have opened a Laser Capture Molecular Core.

The Ohio State University Medical Center and Seattle's Institute for Systems Biology have established the P4 Medicine Institute (P4MI), a consortium dedicated to accelerating the emergence and adoption of health care that is predictive, preventive, personalized and participatory.

Leadership Activities and Appointments

Steven M. Devine, MD, director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Program, has been appointed chair of the CALGB Transplant Committee.

Lynn O'Donnell, PhD, director of the Cellular Therapy Lab at the OSUCCC – James, has been elected to the Executive Committee of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.

William E. Carson III, MD, associate director for Clinical Research, has been named to the National Comprehensive Cancer Network Board of Directors. He succeeds Clara D. Bloomfield, MD, a Distinguished University Professor at Ohio State.

Joyce Hendershott, LISW-S, ACSW, clinical program manager for Patient Education at the OSUCCC – James, was appointed to the editorial board of Oncology Times, an independent, award-winning newspaper mailed to 45,000 cancer specialists nationally.

Sign up to receive publications from the OSUCCC – James

Sign Up Now

Contact The James

General Inquiries




460 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Contact Us

Meet the Leaders

Leadership & Executive Cabinet at The James

Learn More