Of Note

Awards and Recognitions

Clara D. Bloomfield, MD, a Distinguished University Professor at Ohio State and cancer scholar and senior adviser to the OSUCCC – James, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

Kathleen Boris-Lawrie, PhD, professor of veterinary biosciences and member of the Viral Oncology Program of the OSUCCC – James, andLARRY SCHLESINGER, MD, chair of the Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity and member of the Innate Immunity Program, have been elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.

The Department of Pharmacy at The Ohio State University Medical Center and the OSUCCC – James have received the American Pharmacists Association Foundation’s Pinnacle Award for their Medication Assistance Program.

Joanne Lester, PhD, CRNP, ANP-BC, AOCN, a research scientist and oncology nurse practitioner, has received a two-year, $150,000 Young Investigator Award from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network Foundation. This is the first year for these awards, five of which were issued nationally. Lester’s grant will fund a study entitled, “Effect of survivorship care planning on distress: a randomized control trial with leukemia and breast cancer survivors.”

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, MD, medical director of the Gastrointestinal Oncology Program, has received a Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award for 2010 from the National Cancer Institute (NCI). The award recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of new therapies through collaborative team science at NCI-designated cancer centers. The two-year awards include $50,000 in funding.

Faculty and Programs

Peter Shields, MD, has joined the cancer program as deputy director of the OSUCCC – James. He comes to Ohio State from Georgetown University.

Ricardo Carrau, MD, has joined the cancer program as a professor of Otolaryngology and co-director of the Skull Base Surgery Program. His clinical interests include endoscopic and external skullbase surgery, head and neck oncologic surgery, airway reconstruction, and diagnosis and management of swallowing disorders. His research interests include surgical simulators, telemedicine, clinical outcome studies and development of endonasal reconstructive techniques.

David E. Cohn, MD, professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been appointed director of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology at the OSUCCC – James.

Vincent Daniel, MD, has joined the cancer program as an assistant professor of Surgery. His clinical interests include: lung, tracheal and esophageal cancer; esophageal motility disorders and minimally invasive thoracic surgery. His research interests include: molecular markers of lung and esophageal cancer.

William Farrar, MD, professor of Surgery, has been named director of the new four-story JamesCare Comprehensive Breast Center, the first of its kind in the Midwest to offer the full spectrum of care at one location.

Jeffrey Fowler, MD, professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, has been appointed vice-chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Fowler, a physician-scientist at the OSUCCC – James, holds the John G. Boutselis Chair of Gynecologic Oncology and co-directs Ohio State’s Center for Advanced Robotic Surgery.

Deliang Guo, PhD, has joined the cancer program as an assistant professor of Radiation Oncology. His research focuses on EGFR/RTKs/PI3K/Akt and Ras/MEK/ERK signaling transduction and cancer metabolism.

Larry Schlesinger, MD professor and member of the OSUCCC – James Innate Immunity Program, has been named chair of the College of Medicine’s new Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity.

The OSUCCC – James is now a full member of the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG), one of the nation’s largest clinical cooperative groups. Fewer than 40 U.S. institutions have full RTOG member status.

Leadership Activities and Announcements

William Carson III, MD, professor of Surgery and associate director for clinical research for the OSUCCC – James, has been elected the next vice-chair of the Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG) Melanoma Committee. Carson will succeed Dr. Lawrence Flaherty of the Karmanos Cancer Institute in Detroit.

Theresa Dinardo Brown, chief communications officer for the OSUCCC – James, has been elected to a two-year term on the steering committee of the National Cancer Institute Public Affairs & Marketing Network, a professional group of public affairs, marketing and communications officers at the nation’s leading cancer centers.

Sign up to receive publications from the OSUCCC – James

Sign Up Now

Contact The James

General Inquiries




460 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Contact Us

Meet the Leaders

Leadership & Executive Cabinet at The James

Learn More