Ohio State Cancer Leader Elected to AACR Board of Directors

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, director of The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center and CEO of the James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), is one of five scientists elected by members of the American Association for Cancer Research to serve on the AACR Board of Directors for the 2013 to 2016 term.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) is the world’s first and largest professional organization dedicated to high-quality, innovative cancer research. The organization fosters the exchange of knowledge and new ideas among cancer researchers, provides training opportunities for the next generation of cancer researchers and increases public understanding of cancer.

AACR membership includes more than 34,000 laboratory, translational and clinical researchers, population scientists, other healthcare professionals, and cancer advocates residing in more than 90 countries. The AACR annually convenes more than 20 conferences and educational workshops, the largest of which is the AACR Annual Meeting with more than 17,000 attendees.

Caligiuri holds the John L. Marakas Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Foundation chair in cancer research at Ohio State. He is a professor in the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, and in the Department of Internal Medicine at Ohio State, and he was chairperson for the AACR Annual Meeting Program Committee in 2009. 

Sign up to receive publications from the OSUCCC – James

Sign Up Now

Meet the Leaders

Leadership & Executive Cabinet at The James

Learn More