Cancer Program News

University Board of Trustees Appoints Four New Endowed Chairs

On February 1, The Ohio State University Board of Trustees approved the appointment of four new chairs for cancer research at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James). Ohio State now has 25 endowed chairs in cancer research and treatment. These chairs are created and supported by generous OSUCCC – James donors.

By recruiting and retaining the best and brightest cancer researchers, Ohio State is also bringing millions of dollars in cancer research grants to the institution. Currently, Ohio State ranks 15th among all cancer centers across the country in research funding from the National Cancer Institute.

The new cancer chairs are:

  • David P. Carbone, MD, PhD, Professor – Barbara J. Bonner Chair in Lung Cancer Research. Carbone will create a new thoracic oncology center at the OSUCCC – James.
  • Steven K. Clinton, MD, PhD, Professor – The John B. and Jane T. McCoy Chair in Cancer Research. Clinton leads the Molecular Carcinogenesis and Chemoprevention Program at the OSUCCC – James.
  • Michael R. Grever, MD, Professor – The Bertha Bouroncle, MD, and Andrew Pereny Chair of Medicine. Grever co-leads the Experimental Therapeutics Program at the OSUCCC – James.
  • Guido Marcucci, MD, Professor – The Charles Austin Doan Chair of Medicine. Marcucci is associate director for translational research at the OSUCCC – James.

Leapfrog Recognizes The James as Top Hospital

For the fourth consecutive year, and the fifth time in six years, Ohio State’s Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James) has been named among the safest and most effective hospitals by the Leapfrog Group, a national consortium of Fortune 500 companies. The James is among 92 hospitals (from a field of almost 1,200) named 2012 Leapfrog Top Hospitals, based upon a rating system that provides an up-to-the-minute assessment of a hospital’s quality and safety.

Caligiuri, Croce Gain AACR Honors

Two renowned medical scientists at Ohio State’s Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James) have received separate honors from the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR).

OSUCCC Director and James CEO Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, is one of five scientists nationwide elected to serve on the AACR Board Directors for the 2013-16 term. Carlo M. Croce, MD, who chairs the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics at Ohio State, where he serves as director of Human Cancer Genetics, is among 106 scientists chosen for the first class of Fellows of the AACR Academy.

Caligiuri and the other new board members were introduced April 9 in Washington, D.C., at the annual meeting (April 6-10) of the AACR, the world’s first and largest professional organization dedicated to advancing cancer research. At the same meeting, Croce was inducted in the inaugural class of Fellows for the new AACR Academy, which honors scientists whose work has propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer.

Sign up to receive publications from the OSUCCC – James

Sign Up Now

Contact The James

General Inquiries




460 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Contact Us

Meet the Leaders

Leadership & Executive Cabinet at The James

Learn More