Cancer Program News

Ohio State Receives $18.7 Million Federal Grant to Establish Tobacco Center of Regulatory Science

The Ohio State University has received an $18.7 million federal grant to establish a research center devoted to the study of tobacco-use patterns, industry marketing practices and public perceptions that will help the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) put science behind its new role in regulating tobacco.

Ohio State’s center is one of 14 established nationally under this new federal initiative, called the Tobacco Centers of Regulatory Science program. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and FDA announced that they have teamed to ensure that the FDA’s regulation of tobacco is based on sound and relevant scientific evidence. The National Cancer Institute will administer the Ohio State funding.

The University has proposed a broad research program that takes into account the biological, psychological, economic and public health implications associated with tobacco use and the industry’s marketing of products to consumers. A total of 18 scientists from six colleges and Ohio State’s Comprehensive Cancer Center – James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute will populate the new Ohio State University Center of Excellence in Regulatory Tobacco Science.

Ohio State Hematologist Recognized Nationally With Top 10 Clinical Research Achievement Award

John ByrdJohn C. Byrd, MD, hematology division director and co-leader of the Leukemia Research Program at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital & Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), has again received national scientific recognition for his translational research investigating use of the drug, ibrutinib, in the treatment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), at the 2014 Clinical Research Forum’s third annual Top 10 Research Achievement Awards. The Clinical Research Forum’s Top 10 Clinical Research Achievement Award winners are selected from peer-reviewed, scientific publications published in the previous year that have been identified as compelling examples of scientific innovation with benefit to human health resulting from the nation’s investment in clinical research.

Byrd, who is known internationally for his research in hematologic malignancies, is also a 2013 recipient of the prestigious Emil J. Freireich Award for clinical cancer research. The award is given to candidates 55 and younger who have made outstanding contributions to clinical research. Byrd holds the D. Warren Brown chair in leukemia research and leads the $11.5 million NCI Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant and a $6.25 million Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Specialized Center of Research (SCOR) grant to study and treat chronic lymphocytic leukemia and acute myeloid leukemia at The OSUCCC – James. The research was also supported by Four Winds Foundation, D Warren Brown Foundation, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Thomas, Mr. And Mrs. Lipkin, Harry T. Mangurian Jr. Foundation and the Sullivan CLL Research Foundation.

Sign up to receive publications from the OSUCCC – James

Sign Up Now

Contact The James

General Inquiries




460 W. 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Contact Us

Meet the Leaders

Leadership & Executive Cabinet at The James

Learn More