Blood and Marrow Transplant Nurses Win National Award for Patient Care Excellence

January 20, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Nurses with the Blood and Marrow Transplant program at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James) have received national recognition for exceptional patient care and professional nursing practice with a three-year, bronze level Beacon Award for Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The team includes 75 nurses. 

AACN, the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, brings together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses through more than 235 chapters worldwide. The organization established the Beacon Award for Excellence in 2003 to recognize unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes while also aligning professional nursing practices with AACN’s standards for a healthy work environment.

Units that earn this award meet nationally recognized benchmarks for patient care excellence consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award — all considered gold standards for quality patient care and professional nursing practice. 

Through this voluntary hospital recognition program, awardees are evaluated on leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. 

“Our nurses in The James BMT unit are steadfastly dedicated to implementing the highest standards in oncology care to ensure optimal patient outcomes. This national award is recognition of their teamwork and dedication to giving our patients the best care possible,” says Steven Devine, MD, hematologist and director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant program at The OSUCCC – James.

The OSUCCC – James is the only cancer-specific unit in Ohio and first BMT unit nationally to earn AACN Beacon Award for Excellence recognition. In October 2013, the OSUCCC – James achieved Magnet® designation as part of the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program, which is considered the highest honor an organization can receive for quality patient care and professional nursing practice. It remains the only freestanding cancer hospital in the Midwest to hold this designation.

2015 Beacon Award for Excellence honorees will be recognized publicly in San Diego in May 2015 at the National Teaching Institute and Critical Care Exposition, the world’s largest educational conference and trade show for nurses who care for acutely and critically ill patients and their families. OSUCCC – James registered nurses Carrie Aurin, Andrea Scurria, Amy Tootle, Andrea Palka, Emily Bernhard, Henriette Van Zyl; Scott Roberts, Cindy Watkins, Stephanie Kasberg; quality manager Amanda Hrnicek; clinical nurse specialist Misty Lamprecht and Devine worked on the OSUCCC-James Beacon Award application.

About The OSUCCC – James The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute strives to create a cancer-free world by integrating scientific research with excellence in education and patient-centered care, a strategy that leads to better methods of prevention, detection and treatment. Ohio State is one of only 41 National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers and one of only four centers funded by the NCI to conduct both phase I and phase II clinical trials. The NCI recently rated Ohio State’s cancer program as “exceptional,” the highest rating given by NCI survey teams. As the cancer program’s adult patient-care component, The James is a “Top Hospital” as named by the Leapfrog Group and one of the top cancer hospitals in the nation as ranked by U.S.News & World Report.


Media Contact: Amanda J. Harper
Director, Media Relations, OSUCCC – James
614-685-5420 (direct)
614-293-3737 (media main)

Contact Media Staff

Amanda Harper

Director of Media Relations

614-685-5420 (direct)

614-293-3737 (main)

Media staff are available by calling 614-293-3737 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.


If after hours, please call 614-293-8000 (ask the operator to page the hospital administrative manager).