The Ohio State University Department of Radiation Oncology supports the James Cancer Hospital, the Stephanie Spielman Comprehensive Breast Center, and University Hospitals. We treat over 200 patients per day within this network through a strong multimodality program, including radiosurgery, stereotactic body radiotherapy, intraoperative radiotherapy, brachytherapy, a comprehensive breast center, and pediatric oncology.

The Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital & Richard J. Solove Research Institute at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center offers a two-year Radiation Oncology Medical Physics Residency Program. The medical physics residency program is under the supervision of the Physics Residency Program faculty, and provides clinical training in radiation oncology physics to individuals with an M.S. or PhD degree in Medical Physics, Physics or a closely related field. Our 2-year training position usually begins July 1st.

The program may support up to four residents, with an additional position available for a US Armed Services resident. Our residency program was created in 2003, and the program received CAMPEP Accreditation in 2012 and Reaccreditation in 2015.

The Medical Physics residents will receive training using state-of-the-art equipment including 9 Varian Truebeam accelerators, a Mobetron Intra-operative accelerator, a Gamma Knife Perfexion unit, Siemens and GE 4DCT simulators, PET/CT Simulator, MR Simulator, Varian Eclipse TPS, with BrachyVision and Variseed and Vitesse, iPlan, a Varian GammaMed Plus HDR System in an integrated Brachytherapy suite with an Acuity simulator, and ARIA Record and Verification and E Charting environment.

The program’s objective is to provide clinical training in radiation oncology physics. The training involves full participation by the physics resident in the routine clinical activities, in addition to didactic lectures on radiation physics, dosimetry, and radiation oncology. Comprehensive training and experience is provided in the areas of clinical dosimetry, treatment planning, IGRT, IMRT, brachytherapy, machine calibration, quality assurance, special procedures, radiation safety, and involvement in translational projects.

The Department of Radiation Oncology currently has 20 Radiation Oncologists, 10 Medical Residents, 16 Medical Physicists, 4 Medical Physics Residents, 14 Dosimetrists and over 45 Radiation Therapists.

For more detailed information regarding our Physics Residency Program please view our Medical Physics Residency Handbook for the classes of 2018-2020 or the Medical Physics Residency Program Brochure.

For additional information on the program please contact our program coordinator Meg Decker at

Nilendu Gupta, PhD, FAAPM

Residency Program Director

Raju Raval

Jeffrey Woollard, PhD

Associate Residency Program Director

Jeffrey Woollard

Contact Us

For more Information regarding our Residency Programs:


Education Manager
Meg Decker

The James Cancer Hospital
460 W. 10th Ave
Second Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43210