DDI Team

The Drug Development Institute is led by a team of highly experienced research and drug development scientists with:

  • Diversified industrial experience along the drug development value chain
  • Proven track records of delivering novel compounds and technologies for clinical development
  • Experience in managing projects using data-driven, milestone-based project management
Jeff Patrick

Jeff Patrick, Pharma – Director of the DDI and Clinical Pharmacist 

Email: jeffrey.patrick@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-688-7329

Dr. Patrick is a residency-trained clinical pharmacist with nearly 20 years of pharmaceutical industry experience. He brings expertise in executive leadership, scientific and medical strategy and program building.

Erandi De Silva

Erandi De Silva, PhD – Director of Biology

Email: erandi.desilva@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-685-8869

Dr. De Silva is a molecular biologist with experience in genomics, genetics and target discovery. Previously at Genentech, she brings preclinical development and project management experience to the DDI.

Chad Bennett

Chad Bennett, PhD – Director of Chemistry

Email: chad.bennett@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-685-9230

Dr. Bennett earned his PhD at Indiana University and has over 10 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry at Merck and Schering-Plough, working in both the discovery and early-development phases.

Larry Scharff

Larry Schaaf, PhD – Director of Clinical Pharmacology

Email: larry.schaaf@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-293-6851

Dr. Schaaf earned his PhD at the University of Arizona and has more than 25 years of experience performing clinical pharmacology assessments in the pharmaceutical industry and academia. He has held positions with Upjohn, Pharmacia and Pfizer, and he was director of the Phase I Unit at the OSUCCC – James for 11 years.

Soun Khountham, MS, CCRP – Project Manager

Email: soun.khountham@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-685-5668

Soun is an experienced clinical research management professional. She brings six years of project management expertise in high-accruing phase I-IV clinical trials that have led to FDA approvals.

Reena Shakya

Reena Shakya, PhD – DDI Cancer Biologist

Email: reena.shakya@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-293-1675

Christopher Coss

Christopher Coss, PhD – DDI Preclinical Pharmacologist

Email: christopher.coss@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-688-1309

Cindi Evans

Cindy Evans – Administrative Assistant

Email: ddi@osumc.edu | Phone: 614-685-6957

For more information, contact the DDI team members individually or at ddi@osumc.edu.

Contact the DDI

Email: ddi@osumc.edu
Phone: 614-685-6957 

Support the DDI

Donate Now